Travel Alert: European Council [Aug 4, 2021]

Travel Alert

The European Council (EC) has amended the list of countries with which it recommends member states relax entry restrictions due to positive data regarding the COVID-19 situation in those countries. Ukraine has been added to the list, while Rwanda and Thailand have been removed.

Beginning today August 4th, the following countries are on the list: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Qatar, North Macedonia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, and the US in addition to China (provided it implements a reciprocal travel arrangement). The EC advises EU member states to restrict nonessential travel from all other countries outside the bloc as part of measures to combat the spread of COVID-19.

Countries participating in the measure include all EU Schengen Area member states; non-Schengen EU members Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania; and the four non-EU Schengen-associated states of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. The EC’s recommendation is advisory only; individual member states retain the authority to unilaterally deny travel from countries on the approved list or to permit travel with countries not on the approved list. Participating countries have also implemented the European Council’s “EU Digital COVID Certificate” as of July 15. The certificate is a digital or physical QR code that acts as proof of whether a traveler has been vaccinated against COVID-19, recovered from COVID-19, or recently tested negative for COVID-19. Member states should, in principle, allow individuals possessing the certificate to enter the country without restriction.

The EC previously issued advice for member states to implement additional COVID-19 measures, including mandatory testing before departure, stricter measures to address virus variants of concern, and a common European passenger locator form. Persons exempted from the recommendations include family members of EU nationals, diplomats, foreigners with legal residency permits, cross-border and healthcare workers, and truck drivers transporting freight. Following the end of the Brexit transition period, citizens of the UK are no longer being treated as EU citizens and are therefore subject to measures restricting travel to the EU from outside the bloc as per EC recommendations.

The EC also issued advice on May 20 recommending that member states begin lifting restrictions for vaccinated travelers from countries outside the bloc; most member states have not implemented this measure.

About Riskovery Solutions

Riskovery doesn’t wait until an incident occurs to look for a solution. Our Travel Risk Management Application proactively collects data through its proprietary application to ensure when an incident occurs, employees have the greatest chance of receiving the support they need to get home. As soon as an alert is received, Riskovery immediately begins to reestablish communication. Simultaneously, while communication is being re-established, the team analyzes data to determine where your team members are if they are safe and alternate methods for re-contacting. Team Riskovery takes proactive steps to provide essential support to stranded team members.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin